Is life passing us by?

Standard

I had a thought that I needed to put somewhere because, let’s be honest, Courtney has a bad memory.  Anytime I have a thought that is kind of an “aha” moment, I like to put it somewhere so that maybe it can inspire me later, too.

I spend a large part of my evenings thinking about “What’s my next step?”.  I think that’s pretty healthy for the most part, but I am literally searching and searching and searching with the thought, “I don’t want to get older and realize I had an option to make our lives amazing and I missed it.”  So that’s not quite as healthy as “What’s my next step?”.

I am literally so afraid of letting my life pass me by, that it’s passing me by while I search for ways to savor it.

WHAT. A. WASTE.  (I kind of hate it when people do that… put the period in between words for emphasis… but I must not hate it that much.)  My life is so incredibly good.  There are some crappy parts to my life, but I thank God for those.  I really, really need those.

Can we stop being so obsessed with having “more” that we miss the “more” we were looking for 15 years ago?

If you told me, when I was 17, that this would be my life, I would’ve been starry eyed and in disbelief.  “I’ll have a husband like that?!  And those two kids??  And that house!?”  Now I sit in a chair, in front of my computer, alone and in the dark, while my husband is in the living room watching TV with those two young men and it hits me… Go enjoy this life you wanted 15 years ago.  15 years from now you’re going to be sad that you didn’t.

Leave a comment